International Association of
Canadian National Chapter
Long-Term Service Award

Purpose of Award

To recognize an individual who has, over many years, demonstrated a commitment to the principles, development and functions of the IAH-CNC through multiple activities.


To be eligible for this award, nominees must be long-term members of the IAH-CNC and have contributed to the organization in a number of ways. These can include serving as a member of the Board (Executive prior to incorporation), helping to organize local, national or international conferences, helping to organize local or national speaking engagements, representing the corporation nationally or internationally, or any other activities that support the growth and operation of the organization.

Nomination Procedure

Any member of the IAH-CNC can nominate a person to be presented with this award by submitting a confidential nomination letter to the President outlining the history of involvement in the organization by the individual and the manner in which he or she has contributed to the operation, growth and development of the IAH-CNC. The nomination should be submitted at least two months prior to a national or regional conference where the award will be presented.

The President of IAH-CNC will review and confirm the eligibility of the nominee(s) and forward the nominations to the Chair of the Selection Committee.

Award Selection Committee

The Award Selection Committee will be the IAH-CNC Standing Awards Committee. Decisions as to the suitability of the nominee are made by a majority of the committee members.

The committee may reject, without further consideration, any nomination that in its opinion does not adequately detail the contributions of the candidate(s). Nonetheless, the committee may also request additional information from the nominee in support of the nomination.


The award will be a wall-mountable plaque.


The award will normally be presented at a national conference when the recipient is in attendance but if the recipient is not in attendance then the award may be announced at the conference and the plaque mailed to the recipient with a letter from the President. The awardee will also be acknowledged in the Bulletin.

Previous Winners

Joanne Thompson (2015), Steve Holysh (2017), Bob Betcher (2019), Grant Ferguson (2021).

International Association of Hydrogeologists - Canadian National Chapter
2167 166 Street, Surrey BC, V3Z 0V6
© 2021 IAH Canadian National Chapter