International Association of
Canadian National Chapter
Early Career Hydrogeologist Award

Purpose of Award

To recognize a young professional for his/her contributions to hydrogeology.


To be eligible for this award, nominees must:

  • Have been a member of IAH‐CNC and an early career hydrogeologist (ECH) for at least one full year
  • Have graduated from their most recent degree within 10 years and be working in the field of hydrogeology with cumulative hydrogeology work experience of not more than 10 years
  • Not be a prior recipient of this award

Selection Criteria

The nominee should demonstrate an enthusiasm for leading and engaging with the hydrogeological community and making professional contributions to the field of hydrogeology. Nominees will be reviewed by a committee of the IAH‐CNC considering, for example:

  • Evidence of leadership and engagement in the hydrogeological community
  • Professional contributions and achievements (e.g. conference presentations and papers, refereed journal papers, and professional reports)
  • Evidence of impact of research or work

Nomination Procedure

A nomination describing the contributions of the candidate(s) must be submitted to the President of IAH-CNC. Nominations may be made by any IAH-CNC member.

Nominations should include a letter of nomination, and at least two additional letters of support from outside the organization (e.g. university, agency, company) to which the nominee(s) belong(s). Content provided in the letter should include a summary of academic background and scholarly achievements, mentoring and leadership experience, and career achievements and contributions to Canadian hydrogeology. The President of IAH-CNC will review and confirm the eligibility of the nominee(s) and forward the nominations to the Chair of the Selection Committee.



Award Selection Committee

The Award Selection Committee will be the IAH‐CNC Standing Awards Committee with the addition of one IAH‐CNC ECHN member selected by the Chair of the Committee once all nominations have been received. Decisions are made by a majority of the committee members. The committee may reject, without further consideration, any nomination that in its opinion does not adequately detail the contributions of the candidate(s). Nonetheless, the committee may also request additional information from the nominee in support of the nomination.


The Award is in the form of framed certificate along with one year's registration with IAH‐CNC, provided and paid for by the IAH‐CNC.


The Award will normally be presented annually at an IAH‐CNC conference, or at an appropriate IAH‐CNC local workshop or meeting. The awardee will also be acknowledged in the Bulletin.

Previous Winners

Previous recipients include Magdalena Krol (2019), Jana Levison (2020), Barret Kurylyk (2021).

International Association of Hydrogeologists - Canadian National Chapter
2167 166 Street, Surrey BC, V3Z 0V6
© 2021 IAH Canadian National Chapter